I'm getting Google alerts about breached passwords - what does that mean?

Article author
Aleks Petrovic
  • Updated

You may occasionally receive alerts from Google that states the following:

"The email and password combination you’re using on Uptick has been found in a database of breached passwords"

 

This may leave the impression that Uptick has had a data breach, but what this message describes is that the password you use on Uptick is also being used on another service and that service has been compromised.

 

Uptick recommends that the password you use to log into Uptick is unique and isn't being used for services outside of Uptick.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.